Kate Middleton fans go wild as Prince Will makes his radiant wife laugh in Jamaica

Platinum Jubilee beacons will be lit in 54 Commonwealth capitals

Jubilee beacons are to be lit for the first time in all 54 Commonwealth capitals, spanning five continents, as part of celebrations marking the Queen’s 70 years on the throne.

With 70 days to go until the Platinum Jubilee weekend begins, nations and organizations across the Commonwealth have shared their plans for the festivities.

Beacons will be lit on the evening of Thursday, June 2, from Wellington, New Zealand, and Canberra, Australia, before being lit throughout the Pacific region, through Asia, then the 19 member states of the African Commonwealth, followed by Europe and the Caribbean and Americas.

Bruno Peak, pageant master of the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Beacons, said the event would demonstrate the unity and friendship of the nation’s family.

“I am so excited that, for the first time ever, beacons are being lit in all 54 Commonwealth capitals to celebrate the Queen’s 70 years of service as head of the association,” Mr Peak said.

“Beginning in the Pacific and then moving to the Americas, the beacons lit to celebrate Her Majesty will also serve as a testament to the unity and friendship that stretches across all 54 nations.

“The Queen has lit up the Commonwealth for over 70 years through visits and other engagements, it’s only fitting that we do the same for her.”